Friday the 13th (and other superstitions)

Ordinarily, I wouldn’t consider myself to be a particularly superstitious person. I generally think of superstitious people as being slightly odd (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, and, to be honest, I am probably classified as ‘slightly odd’ by many people). However, I woke up today (Friday the 13th of May) just waiting for something bad to happen… (as it turned out, something “bad” did happen, although on any other day I would have classified it as “annoying” rather than “bad” and I wouldn’t have attributed it to the date, but that isn’t really the point of this post).

So my waiting got me thinking… Why was I (more) worried about today than any other day of the year? And then I started to think about other superstitious-y type things that I avoid in life…

Like opening umbrellas inside. I don’t do that. I wait until I’m outside (even if that means that I am already being rained on) to open the contraption because I’m pretty sure that ‘something not good’ will happen if I open it inside (even though opening it inside would mean that I wouldn’t get rained on).

And walking under ladders. I definitely don’t do that. Who knows what might fall on top of you from up there… pots of paint, people, buckets. Why would you want to risk any of that?

And believing that bad luck comes in threes. Every time something bad happens, I impatiently wait for 2 other bad things to happen so that I can breathe comfortably again. I’m sure this means that I erroneously classify some things as “bad”, even when they are relatively ordinary, just to add them to my list and make the easy breathing happen more quickly.

And touching wood. I do that often. If I don’t, I feel very incomplete (how I imagine that Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory feels if he is unable to complete his knocking ritual). And when there isn’t wood around, I touch my head. Because, obviously, that makes perfect sense.

And saying “bless you” after someone sneezes (even if I don’t know them, and it is said so quietly that no one can hear me), because someone told me when I was younger that the devil uses a sneeze as an opportunity to enter into your body, and I’m not a fan of possession.

And I wore something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue at my wedding. You know, just in case…

On the other hand, I’m not afraid of black cats (heeeeere, kitty kitty kitty!), I don’t believe that being pooped on by a bird is lucky (so gross), and I definitely don’t believe in stealing the feet off of rabbits (because that’s just creepy. And evil.).

So does that mean that I AM superstitious? Perhaps. But I think that I’m going to maintain (at least publicly) that I’m not, and that my slightly odd quirks are just part of what makes me a “normal” human being.

*~*~*

What are your superstitions? Post them in the comments section!

3 thoughts on “Friday the 13th (and other superstitions)

Leave a Reply

