Where did 2016 go?

“How is it the last day of 2016?” I’ve asked myself that question at least 10 times in the last hour.

From my side, 2016 was a bit of a mixed bag. On the positive side, husband-man and I had an awesome honeymoon (which involved bungee jumping – tick off the bucket list), we adopted Stormie Bug, who has brought endless enjoyment to our life, we took our snow dogs to see snow in Matroosberg, I turned 30 (which I’m now considering a plus, but was definitely depressing at the time), and I started this blog!

However, on the negative side, the full-time job that I thought was going to be made permanent was pulled out from under me, and so this month, after 10 years of service, I had to say goodbye to the unit that I helped to build.

Luckily, I was able to find (after 8 months of searching – job hunting is very demoralising) a new adventure to begin. I’m going to be project managing a committee looking at maths and science education in South Africa, and although this new adventure is only part-time, and only until the end of October, I’m looking forward to the challenge. I’m also going to be doing a lot of lecturing in Psychology this year, which I’m very excited about!

On a blog-related note, I was somewhat horrified, although not particularly surprised, if I am honest, to find that my last blog post was in July! Where did the last few months go to (although at least I made my 5-post goal)? In an attempt to remedy such a travesty, I’m going to join the 52-Week Blog Challenge – which I found on Sweetsnsnarks Lifestyle Blog, and was started by Sitbackandjustlive and Britts Daily Dose.

52-week-blog-challenge-guide

Once a week (I’m going to be aiming for a Friday), I will post on the relevant topic. So… Look out on Friday 6 January for a post on “meet my best friend”! Hopefully this will get me writing more regularly, and I am definitely planning on throwing in some additional posts as often as possible! #newyearsresolutions

Well, I guess that is it from me for 2016… Keep doing your best, human beings!

~*~*~

 

One thought on “Where did 2016 go?

Leave a Reply

